Figuring out what I don’t want to do.

Next Thursday I’m leaving my job. After ten months of madness I am leaving and in September I’ll be starting a full time course in professional cookery at college. I am beyond excited to finally be doing something I love that is one step closer to my dream of one day owning a cafe (I’m going to call it Annie’s ’cause I’m super original).

I’ve said since day one of my employment that nothing within my skill set or personality was suited to the job I was being asked to do. I’m an introvert (as discussed in my post, Introversion and Being Introverted) but in my job I have to spend my whole day talking to people, working as part of a team, and doing and saying the same things over and over again. It’s very monotonous and the repetition sends me mad at times. Sometimes it knocked my confidence a little, knowing that most of the people I work with are good at all the things I’m bad at, but then I’m reminded of the fact that I’m good at so many other things.

I’m a creative person and have probably been subconsciously looking for something like cookery for a long time now. I loved my degree and found it really interesting but I don’t know if academia was really for me. I have a short attention span and always struggled to spend hours studying, I wanted to be up doing things, making things, creating; sitting in the library for hours at a time took more energy out of me than spending a day on my feet cooking ever would.

It may have taken me 23 years but I now know what exactly I don’t want to do with my life, as well as all the things I’d really love to do. No matter what, I want to do something that involves caring for people that allows me to be creative. Owning a cafe is perfect because I love cooking, it gives me so many opportunities for creativity (not just in the food and drinks but also in designing the cafe itself; I already have ideas), and it lets me welcome people into a place that I own and make them feel welcome and at home. I can assure you that my cafe will not be one that throws people out after an hour, but that will let people sit for hours studying or reading or Skyping family and friends in far away countries.

I’ll make sure to keep you all updated on how it goes.

x

Leave a Reply

