1 John 4:18 “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear…”

I am one of the most blessed girls out there but sometimes I forget this. I forget how good God has been to me, and how awesome He is, because I get so bogged down by the little things in life. I focus so much on how I don’t like my temporary job, or how the doctor prescribed me antibiotics that don’t work, or how I’m just not happy with how life is going right now. But I forget how He healed up my heart and bound up my wounds, I forget how He loves me more than is humanly possible, I forget how beautiful His creation is, I forget who He is, I forget that He has better plans for me than anything I could ever come up with.

I keep a prayer diary and in it I write all my fears and worries because I know Jesus is the only one who can really change them, who can really take them away. His perfect love drives out all fear so I don’t need to be afraid of anything.

Sometimes Jesus likes to remind me of all the beautiful things in the world that my eyes have witnessed to show me how good He is. It’s like He says, “Look, if I can do this, if I can make this with my hands, I can heal your heart too. You have no need to be afraid.” It makes me smile when He tells me that.

So I made this silly little video montage full of really bad quality clips of beautiful, inspiring places that I’ve been to, backed by a song that is on the soundtrack to the perfect road trip movie. It may only be a few minutes long but it’s full of times and places that made my heart smile, places where I knew I could see Jesus so clearly and where I knew He was good; I like to watch them to remind myself of that truth every so often.

PS All the clips are from the grand old US of A, extra points for those of you who can guess where they’re from!

Leave a Reply

