Being free.

My name is Annie/Marianne (just pick one and go with it) and I am a free spirit.

A couple of days ago I talked to a friend about how I love travelling and how I love who I am when I travel. When I travel I don’t stress out, I’m chilled, and most importantly I adore life and living. My friend asked me why I can’t be like that here, and told me that it’s important that I’m not always waiting around for the next big thing, and that it’s important to be content where I am.

The past few days I was off work sick and I loved it. Not the being ill part, but the part where I got to just hang out at home and think about where I am in life, who I am, and who I want to be. Last night, while spending some time thinking about my travels in 2011, I came to the conclusion that, if I can stop stressing out about the small things, I can be as care free here as I was when I was travelling across the United States on planes, trains, and auto-mobiles. That attitude does not, by any means, have to be kept for travelling.

I’m ready to embrace it all. I’m ready to get stuck in at work, to put more effort into engaging with people, to hang out with Jesus more, to use my free time wisely, to eat more healthily, to exercise more, to read more books. Before you graduate you spend your whole life living through massive chapters, high school is horrendously long, and university for me was four years, but now there’s so many mini chapters to look forward to. Come September I’ll be starting a whole new chapter, and I can’t believe how far I’ve come in the past ten months. Nothing has been what I expected but it has been entirely what it was supposed to be.

Below you’ll find some photos of the more care free, wonderful time of my life. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

