No Borders.

Isaiah 60:15-22

“Although you have been forsaken and hated,
with no one traveling through,
I will make you the everlasting pride
and the joy of all generations.
You will drink the milk of nations
and be nursed at royal breasts.
Then you will know that I, the Lord, am your Savior,
your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob.
Instead of bronze I will bring you gold,
and silver in place of iron.
Instead of wood I will bring you bronze,
and iron in place of stones.
I will make peace your governor
and well-being your ruler.
No longer will violence be heard in your land,
nor ruin or destruction within your borders,
but you will call your walls Salvation
and your gates Praise.
The sun will no more be your light by day,
nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you,
for the Lord will be your everlasting light,
and your God will be your glory.
Your sun will never set again,
and your moon will wane no more;
the Lord will be your everlasting light,
and your days of sorrow will end.
Then all your people will be righteous
and they will possess the land forever.
They are the shoot I have planted,
the work of my hands,
for the display of my splendor.
The least of you will become a thousand,
the smallest a mighty nation.
I am the Lord;
in its time I will do this swiftly.”

I’m so tired of this world and our politics. I’m so tired of borders and divides and governments attacking the poor instead of picking on people their own size. In the UK David Cameron has recently introduced the bedroom tax, meaning that anyone on benefits can’t have a spare bedroom, this even applies to married couples, one of whom has a disability, and they need the spare bed room to store medical equipment or for their partner to possibly sleep in at times. Yet Cameron hasn’t introduced any sort of millionaire’s tax, meaning that while the rich are left to their own devices, the poorest people in the country are having more and more of their freedoms taken away from them.

As it was recently reported in The Telegraph, the gap between the rich and poor in the UK is one of the widest in the developed world. I don’t understand how on earth David Cameron can think his attitude towards the poor is okay, that it’s acceptable to take more and more away from those who have least and keep giving to those who have most. Lowering benefits (and we’re not just talking about job seekers allowance here) will not create a fairer economy and forcing people to move out of their homes is taking away freedoms that everyone should be allowed. At least 660,000 people will be affected by the bedroom tax, a number the housing market simply can’t deal with.

This, my friends, is why the Bible passage quoted above is relevant. I can’t wait for Heaven, when there are or no borders or divides, when those who were treated terribly on earth are given the respect they deserve. I want to see the weak and poor lifted up, I want to see them next to their Saviour, who helped them to carry on even when politicians tried to beat them down. I’m tired of “first world problems” and self-entitled people complaining about minor issues, I want those who are truly broken to be pieced back together. I want wars and famine to end, I want everyone to have enough and no more. I want greed and hatred and selfishness to end, I want the wonder of God light up our skies every day and for everyone to continually be singing His praises because He is our King and He will reign for eternity.

Leave a Reply

