“The best way out is through.”

I talk a lot about life since graduation at the minute because that is my life. In my mind I’m still a student at the University of Stirling and I think that will be how I feel for a long time. But as much as I miss university I still think I have grown tremendously since I graduated. Never mind all the things I’ve actively done, like finding a job and learning to drive, I have grown as a person more this year than I did in my four years at university. I have learnt the importance of endurance, of how I need to be trusted with the little things before I can do the big things. I’ve learnt more about society as a whole than I ever knew before, simply because I have lived within it, rather than making assumptions based on things I’ve learnt from textbooks.

I have discovered that Jesus is truly my best friend and that throughout everything, all the tough times, He has always been at my side, even when it felt like He wasn’t. Friends are there when I need them, they’re around and I can call them or go for coffee with them, but it’s not the same. My friendship with Jesus has been the only constant thing in my life, He is the only one in whom I’ve been able to put my full trust.

Below I’ve posted some quotes that have been relevant to my life since graduating, things that have truly meant something to me.

 

Robert Frost – “The best way out is always through.”

Katy Perry – I wish I knew then,
What I know now,
Wouldn’t dive in,
Wouldn’t bow down,
Gravity hurts,
You made it so sweet,
‘Til I woke up on,
On the concrete.”

Donald Miller – “It is always the simple things that change our lives. And these things never happen when you are looking for them to happen. Life will reveal answers at the place life wishes to do so. You feel like running, but life is on a stroll. This is how God does things.”

Owl City – “And you’ll find there’ll be mornings
When the ashes and embers are cold,
But you’ll fight with a passion
And you’ll never stop ’cause you know.
Yeah you know, it gets better,
And your story is yet to be told,
Every push, every shove, every war, every love,
Yeah, the coals are beginning to glow.”

Elizabethtown – “Sadness is easier because it’s surrender. I say, make time to dance alone with one hand waving free.”

Mother Teresa – “God does not call us to be successful, but God calls us to be faithful.”

Narnia: Prince Caspian (book)  “Aslan,” said Lucy, “you’re bigger.” “That is because you are older, little one,” answered he. “Not because you are?” “I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”
Narnia: Prince Caspian (film) – Lucy: “I wish I were braver.
Aslan: “If you were any braver you would be a lioness.”

I love the Robert Frost quote because it kind of says it all, really. I was never going to get out of this year, I was never going to magically escape from it all, so the best way to get out of it was to get through it, and to learn and grow from it.

I also especially adore the last quote from Narnia because I believe I have been brave this year; braver than I’ve ever had to be. I’ve spent a lot of time wondering if there was more I should have done, if I should have been braver, but I think life has been tough without me adding anything else to it. The lack of people in my life has been a real hurdle but, as I said at the start, Jesus has been by my side the whole time.

I’ll let the rest of the quotes speak for themselves.

I hope that many of my fellow 20-somethings will take something from this post, that you will be encouraged and realise how much good there has been in your life since you graduated, even if it doesn’t feel like that. Some days I feel like I’m still lost, like I don’t know where on earth my life is going, but what I do know is that, no matter what, Jesus is always by my side leading the way, so it doesn’t matter if I don’t know where I’m going.

Leave a Reply

