Why Romance isn’t Dead.

I used to think that the notion of God loving me romantically was really strange.

Society has, over the years, made romance about nothing more than sex, nothing more than red roses and candles and sexual intimacy and I think that’s sad, because God has loved us with a romantic love since the dawn of time and it hasn’t been about any of those things.

Recently I was talking to a friend about how God feels when we sin, and he talked about how he views God as being tangible and as if he is dating Him, because when we sin it hurts God in the same way that it would hurt our boyfriend/girlfriend or spouse when we do something selfish.

Don’t worry, I’m not about to get all, “Jesus is my boyfriend” on your asses, because that’s just not how I roll.

Romantic love from God means that He wants so much good for us all the time, that He wants to spend all His time with us, and that He thinks we’re beautiful (male and female, might I add) even when we feel that we’re at our ugliest. He wants to protect me from all the pain and hurt in the world but knows that He has to let me experience life so I can see how much I need Him. Sometimes we do things that hurt Him and He has to show us the right way, but this is only because He knows our potential and that we can do better. But it’s so much more than this, it is better even than this, this is just the only way that my tiny human mind is able to comprehend it. And, just like in any relationship, when I do something that hurts Him, when I sin, He is upset.

Never before had I grasped what God’s love was really like. For some reason I just couldn’t make it “click” but, finally, He has given me a glimpse into what His love for me looks like. I think it’s because I deactivated my Facebook for a week. Which seems silly, I know, but I think the two link up. I’m a total Facebook nerd. I spend way too much time scrolling through the news feed and, since graduating, it has done more to depress me than anything else, so I decided to deactivate my profile for a week or so to see if it helped me out at all. Something I noticed more than anything while on Facebook was that I was single. Not Annie, but Single. It seemed like people were falling in love, left, right and centre, and I was alone.

On New Years Day, at around 1:00 am, I talked to a friend in her car and told her that I didn’t think God could fill the void that had been created by a life of singleness so far. I thought that was the one thing that God couldn’t do; but, to my surprise, two days later God has filled that void and made me realise how wanted and important and loved I am. I spent the last two months of 2012 with a broken heart, shattered and aching, but the first three days of 2013 have been beyond wonderful.

If you haven’t experienced this great love, if it hasn’t quite “clicked” with you yet, I pray that it will, and I encourage you to pray this prayer too. God is over-flowing with love, a romantic love, that will sweep us off our feet and leave us breathless.

8 thoughts on “Why Romance isn’t Dead.

  1. I found your blog on 20sb and I am so glad I did. This is a beautiful post and I understand what you mean. God’s love is so different than societys love. He has spoken to me in weird and different ways, most recently it has been regarding me going to school.

    i can’t wait to read more. ❤

    • Awk, thanks 🙂 I’m really glad you like it. Feel free to share it with your pals! I saw your post about school, in regards to your loans, and also the comment to say you’d decided to go for it, and I think you made a great decision. I know that in the USA your tuition fees are so much higher than in the UK but I’m a fan of education and learning and if a loan is available then you should definitely take it.

    • Yeah, a lot of people don’t, usually because they’ve taken Jeremiah 29:11 out of context. God has plans for us, but I don’t think they’re as rigorous and structured as a lot of people would like us to believe.

  2. Pingback: Seeing the Good. | Following the Northern Star

Leave a Reply

