Why money shouldn’t be number one (choosing Jesus over what I “should” be doing)

After two months of killing myself working 40 hours a week and trusting in God more than ever before, I decided it was the right time to go down to 25 hours and sign up for a part-time contract.

I feel like the past eight or so weeks have given me a great perspective on the things that are important to me, because my free time has been minimised so much that I’ve discovered all the things that I miss being able to do whenever I want. If I spend an hour or two playing guitar in the evening it means that I’m stumped for writing time, if I go out for a few hours I have no time to do anything other than the usual stuff to get ready for the next day. I’m also so tired a lot of the time that even if I do have a free evening I sometimes just spend it lying on my bed watching films. Last Friday I fell asleep at 8:30pm while watching a film on Netflix; on Friday.

I’m so lucky that I can afford to go part-time, that in the current economic climate I have the freedom to decide not to work all the hours I can get. It doesn’t mean it’s easy though; it doesn’t mean I’m jumping for joy that I’ll be making less money, and I am a little nervous but I’m also pretty content in the fact that God knows what He’s doing when it comes to providing for me. Not that I mean He’s about to drop a bag of money on my lap every month to make up for the cash that I’m now losing out on, but He will always give me what I need.

God doesn’t see much worth in material things, you see.

1Timothy 6:7-10
 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction.For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.”
(NIV)

Leaps of faith are scary. Working part time and making less money is as scary as working full time and dealing with nasty people every day because life is a lot less certain, but life’s not about certainty. It’s about doing what you know is right and trusting God to guide you every step of the way. I want to work this year so I can do more exciting things next year and part of me is afraid that I won’t make enough money to do that, but I also know that God will provide for me. I also know that He’s also given me plenty of options, so I’ll never be stuck. With Jesus you’re never stuck.

I just think it’s important that we follow our dreams, and if Jesus has given us those dreams then He’ll bless us for choosing Him over what the world says we should do.

Philippians 4:19
And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.
(NIV)

Some of you will think this is all just childish idealism, that dreams are for liberal students and kids with wild imaginations; but I disagree. I think the world has gone two ways: there’s Hollywood, which makes us think that everything and anything is possible with no effort at all, and the rest of society tells us that we’re screwed and all we can ever be certain of in life is death and taxes, as well as constantly working a job we hate so that we can enjoy the weekends and then dread Monday mornings.

God calls us to something better than all of this.

He pushes us to our full potential and tells us that, with Him, anything is possible, that we’re not alone in our fight but that it does take work and endurance. He tells us that there is more to life than the daily grind and gives us hope in the fact that there most definitely is more to life than stress and frustration. He tells us that we are more than our jobs, our offices, our work clothes, our wages, He reminds us that we’re in this world for something so much bigger and better than what society tells us we’re here for.

I feel so safe in God’s arms, knowing that my life isn’t controlled by my wage. I pray that those of you who read this will feel the same.

x

Leave a Reply

