The awkward moment when you realise your job didn’t make you happy after all…

Finally, another Tuesday post! I’m hoping to get back on schedule now that I’m more used to going to work every day. Enjoy!

For a while during my unemployed period after graduation all I could think about was getting a job and how happy it would make me to fill my time and get some cash in my pocket. However, what I didn’t realise was that I might not enjoy my job and that true happiness (which is truly defined as joy in Christ) is not found in anything worldly.

The wise C.S. Lewis once wrote:

“I sometimes wonder whether all pleasures are not substitutes for joy.”

Society takes the simple things away from us. When you’re employed your time is no longer your own, your energy is sucked out of you as you drag yourself out of bed every morning to sit in an office for nine hours in front of a computer and be spoken to as if you are worth nothing. If I didn’t know Jesus, if I didn’t know how much worth He saw in me, I might actually believe these people. In work the air conditioning dries out my throat and causes me to spend the day coughing, I feel bad any time I need to take a bathroom break in case I get yelled at, and my breaks are only long enough to shovel my lunch and snacks in before heading straight back to my desk. No time to read or truly rest from the almost three hours I have just spent in a room lit with fluorescent lighting, being treated like a robot. The world makes us think we should be okay with all these things because we’re getting paid minimum wage for it.

But this post isn’t going to be a big complaint about my job. As much as I’d like to bore you all with how much I dread the thought of getting up at 6:30 am tomorrow, I won’t. What this post is about is where true happiness is found, and how I wish, when I was unemployed, that I had truly realised this.

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.
(ESV)

You see, we’ll never find true fulfillment in our work, no matter what we do. Whether we’re a missionary or a check out worker, the CEO of a company that makes millions daily or a doctor who saves lives day after day, true fulfillment will not be found in these things. Only Jesus can give us true joy, true peace, and true hope.

Your job might not make you smile, but spending time with Jesus and knowing true peace and fulfillment in being His child does. My favourite part of the day is when I get to come home and spend time with Jesus, reading His word, and listening to Him speak to me and talking with Him. It’s truly a highlight. If your job does make you smile, just remember that it may not be your job forever, and that things may change, whereas God will not.

Malachi 3:6
“I, the LORD, do not change.”
(NIV)

So, fellow 2012 graduates, don’t forget that nothing but Jesus will be enough to bring joy to you.

x

Leave a Reply

