Endurance: Part Two

Tonight, for my second post on endurance, I’m going to write about the beautiful things that you will come to realise when the tough times just seem to keep on going and continually getting tougher.

Upon entering my current job I hoped to be out of it within a few weeks. The last thing I wanted was to be going into week six and still be waiting for responses from other employers inviting me to interviews. However, this is where I am, and where I will be for the next while. But in this time God is growing and changing me more than I ever thought He could.

Today I read some of Psalm 18 and this blew my mind:

Psalm 18:35
“You give me Your shield of victory,
and Your right hand sustains me;
You stoop down to make me great.”
(NIV)

God who created this world, the King of Kings, the Lord of Lords, stooped down for me, a weak and lowly creature who screws up constantly. When I’m in work and I’m stressed out God gives me His shield of victory, His right hand holds me up, and He stoops down and lifts me out of the worry and the fear. He is always faithful.

Psalm 18:16-19
“He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
He drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
From my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
But the Lord was my support.
He brought me out into a spacious place;
He rescued me because He delighted in me.”
(NIV)

God never leaves us on our own when we’re afraid, He never expects us to get out of bad situations ourselves, but He pulls us out, He reaches down and takes hold of us and holds on to us like we never knew He could. If we trust in Him He will do more for us than we are ever able to imagine.

I don’t just read these truths in the Bible but I see them in my every day life. I see Him constantly pull me out of situations that scare me when I begin to panic, I see Him answer the little, weak prayers that I mumble to Him under my breath, I see Him bless my conversations, I hear Him when I walk outside between the office and the canteen and hear the birds singing, I see Him when I work the early shifts and the morning sun light streams in through the window as I talk to customers.

On Tuesday morning I was listening to Switchfoot and doing some of my Bible reading before I left the house. The song I was listening to is called ‘Your Love is a Song’ and it goes a little something like this:

As I listened to this I read Ephesians 4:16-21 and don’t think I’ve ever smiled so much at 7:15 am:

“I pray that out of His glorious riches He may strengthen you with power through His spirit in your inner being so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the Church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”
(NIV)

While praying tonight it hit me that I’m not in this world to be amazing at my job or to have a brilliant education, I’m in this world so God can use me to tell people about Him, so I can take part in the great commission. All these things we do: work, school, university, grocery shopping, buying clothes… we do these things because we can’t completely avoid society, but we don’t do them to please God. First and foremost our identity is found in Christ and what we do for Him.

So because of this, because Christ asks us to follow Him so we can grown and learn, in Him, we must endure, but we can always feel safe and at peace in the knowledge that He is always with us and will always save us. After all, He already did.

x

2 thoughts on “Endurance: Part Two

  1. Good word Annie! Very encouraging as I’m going through similar stuff. “He rescued me because He delighted in me.” Love that verse. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

