“I will ride, I will fly, chase the wind and touch the sky…”

I adore Celtic music and I’ve been listening to a lot of Julie Fowlis recently. It fills me with so many memories of my time in Scotland, but most of all it reminds me of who I was while living there, who I became while the beautiful town of Stirling was my home.

I’m nervous about a lot of things in life right now, and this week I’m doing something that involves stepping right out of my comfort zone. However, every time I think of the bravery of the Scots, of how I fought battles in that beautiful place and of how strong I was, I instantly realise that everything I do this week will be a piece of cake.

In 2008 I moved to Stirling when I wasn’t ready at all and, in May, I moved home completely unprepared for what lay ahead of me. But the difference this time is that I have four years of experience of being uncomfortable and unsure, of living in an environment where I was constantly tested and questioned. I have been in situations where I have been the only one drunk, and I have also been in situations where I have been the only one sober. I’ve also done many stupid things while sober and also made a complete ass out of myself while drunk.

Tonight I won’t walk into this situation unsure and lost, I’ll walk into it confident and ready for anything.
If I can climb the beautiful Ochil Mountains, I can do this.

It’s easy to believe that the negative things from your past, the part of your life that is no longer a part of you, are still who you are because that’s what sticks in your mind most, when that’s not actually true at all. I wish this wasn’t true but, yes, Stirling is now a part of my past. However, it’s the best part, my favourite part, the part in which I grew and learned the most.

There’s a great song about Scotland called ‘Caledonia’, you should listen to it here:

I listened to this song a lot in my final semester because it’s a song sang to Scotland after having been away for a while. Scotland, and Stirling in particular, will always hold a really important place in my heart. Even though I’ve already accepted and processed that I’m no longer a student and that I won’t be going back to Stirling in September, this doesn’t change who I’ve become, it doesn’t mean I need to regress to the person I was when I was seventeen. I still feel like a student of Stirling University and I think I always will; the beauty is that I’ll always be in the alumni, so I’ll always have connections there. This song reminds me that who I am no longer that person, but I am a new creation in Christ because He took me somewhere and grew me there.

So if you’re afraid of something, of stepping out of your comfort zone, of doing something that scares the pants off you, just think of all the things you have done, of all the terrifying experiences you’ve conquered, and you’ll be able to do it no problem; I promise.

x

 

Leave a Reply

