Rejoicing Always

I’ve been dying to write today.
To share with you the amazing things that God has been doing in my life over the past week.

If the past seven days have taught me anything it’s that we learn and grow the most in the tough times. I have truly learnt how to “rejoice always” (1 Thessalonians 5:16). It baffles me how the devil seems to think that the hard times will break me down, when really all they do is encourage me to fight even harder and to love my Saviour even more. Jesus won the battle long ago; it’s strange how he hasn’t realised that yet.

This morning on the way to Church I was fighting back tears. Really sad, broken tears. A lot has been going on within my family recently and it’s been incredibly tough. But in Church we sang ‘How Deep the Father’s Love for Us’ and, again, I was reminded of the great love that Jesus has for me.

The thing about Jesus is that He doesn’t pull us out of bad situations, He doesn’t click His fingers and make everything right again. If He did that then we would never share in the pain that He knew on the cross, we would never know the fight, the battle, we would never know why we truly needed Him. But what He does is so much better; He loves us through the pain. He strengthens us so we can grow and continue to fight the good fight, spread His word, love people more deeply and learn to be more like Him. He humbles us and shows us that He is the only way.

Some people probably want a God who’ll make life perfect, who’ll just pull us out of the tough times, but how would we ever learn from that? We wouldn’t be living in reality, we’d be in a fantasy world and we would never be able to share in the pain and anguish that Jesus experienced on the cross.

My heart has never before wanted to cry out in praise as much as it does now, and it’s not because I feel excited or happy. If I was going by my emotions I’d be angry with God. I just know He is working and doing great things and waking me up every morning and reminding me that He loves me constantly. He is truly the reason I get out of bed in the morning, because I know He has something better for me, something that is just beyond the horizon; and that horizon gets closer and closer every day. I could not do this without Him and I don’t know how anyone does.

I want to leave you with a quote from Francis Chan that in some way expresses how I’m feeling at the minute:

“I don’t want my life to be explainable without the Holy Spirit. I want people to look at my life and know that I couldn’t be doing this by my own power. I want to live in such a way that I am desperate for Him to come through. That if He doesn’t come through, I am screwed.”

x

One thought on “Rejoicing Always

Leave a Reply

