Family & Home

Until recently I wasn’t incredibly close with my parents, and until recently that fact wouldn’t have bothered me.

If I was in California right now, if I was job hunting in Scotland, if I was anywhere but at home, this wouldn’t be happening. God has brought me back to N.Ireland for some beautiful reasons.

When I had to come home in May and when California fell through I was pretty annoyed with God. I was upset and heart-broken and I kept yearning for the things I didn’t have. But now I see that if I had been in those places, my parents and I wouldn’t be in the position we’re in now. We have some pretty stressful things to deal with together at the minute, things I don’t wish to discuss in this blog, and it’s really bringing us together. We’re learning how to tackle the situation, together, and we’re supporting and encouraging each other.

I know a lot of people who don’t know their parents, or whose parents are divorced, or who only know one of their parents, and I’m finally realising how lucky I am to know both my parents and that they’re still together. God has blessed me with a great Mum and Dad and I couldn’t be more grateful.

I wish I’d realised all this a long time ago, and that it didn’t have to be because of a negative situation, but praise the Lord that it’s really happening.

The Bible speaks so much of honouring your Father and Mother and for a long time I thought that my parents and I would never properly reach this stage, that we’d always just be okay with each other, but things are very different now. In the space of a week things are different.

On a side note, I’m starting to love N.Ireland. I’m still struggling a bit with the size of it (it just feels small, I can’t explain that properly) but I’m beginning to love how I’m making a life for myself here, how I’m finding community and home in the place that I used to be terrified of.

God is so good.

x

Leave a Reply

