The Wonderful Cross: “May I never lose the wonder, the wonder of the Cross!”

This is our God,
The servant King,
He calls us now to follow Him.
To bring our lives as a daily offering,
Of worship to the servant King.

– ‘The Servant King’ by Graham Kendrick

For a while I had completely forgotten about the Cross.

I’d like to pretend like that isn’t true, but I really had. I’d completely stopped thinking about the fact that the Creator of the Universe became human and died an incredibly painful death, all so I could be forgiven and have a second chance.

I had totally forgotten that this life is not about me, and that I am loved even though I don’t deserve it, for I am the worst of sinners.

I’ve been getting back into playing guitar and ukulele recently so tonight, when I realised how much I needed to sit down with Jesus and I couldn’t even think of what words to say, I decided picking up my guitar would be the best thing to do. I played around with some Chris Tomlin songs first, but then ‘The Servant King’  by Graham Kendrick came to mind and I found the tabs and started playing.

Never before have I experienced such an intimate worship time while alone in my bedroom.
It suddenly hit me, after weeks of worrying about my story and how stressed I was and the fact that I’m unemployed, that Jesus died for me. He died for me on a cross.

God became man and died for me. The God who “flung stars into space” and who divided the land to make space for the oceans. Had it been for me and no one else He still would have done it, He loves me that much.

Matthew 10:29-31
“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”
(NIV)

I don’t quote this verse to remind you all how important I am, I quote it to remind you how much God loves you. To remind You that He planned you and made you and died for you, and that He has something better for you than the mundane, unchallenging, stressful, painful, scary life that you might be living right now. He didn’t die on a cross so the world could fall to pieces, He died and was resurrected to prove that nothing and no one can stand against Him, not even death.

I can feel Him embracing me tonight, holding me close like I haven’t felt in a long time. I want nothing more than to be close to Him, to call Him Father, to worship Him on bended knee… He is so, so good. I wish I had words to express this all fully but I just don’t.

So I hope that today, and every day, you will never lose the wonder of the cross.

x

One thought on “The Wonderful Cross: “May I never lose the wonder, the wonder of the Cross!”

  1. Pingback: Rejoicing Always | Following the Northern Star

Leave a Reply

