Identity, unemployment, and ALWAYS being a child of God: Part Three

I want to truly and openly share my heart with you this evening because I know I’m not the only one struggling with the things I’m currently struggling with.

I’ve spent a lot of time scrolling through pages and pages of job adverts that ask for experience and qualifications I don’t have, or that are based in places I have no way of getting to, or that are so casual they can’t actually promise any hours.
I’ve spent a lot of time trying to tell myself “it’s okay, life could be worse, you’re fine.”

But I’m not.
Today my heart hurts; and I know that I’m not the only university graduate experiencing this. I know that I’m not the only one afraid that this will never end.

But the thing is that even though we’re not fine, even though we’re unhappy, it will get better.
The first step is turning to God and telling Him that we can’t do it on our own.  When we humble ourselves before Jesus He honours that, He truly becomes our strength.

That is all you need now, just His strength. Cling to that like never before and keep taking it all to Him, keep nailing it to the cross.
Jesus died upon the cross so we could know His love, a love that saves us from the pain of a life lived alone, distant from the Great and Glorious One. Keep kneeling at the cross, He did it for us.

I can’t write today about how excited I am about the good things to come. They’ll be great when they do come but while I’m in this valley it’s still pretty dark, except for the light of Jesus beside me, so for now I’ll just keep my eyes fixed on Him. I’ll let you know when we start the ascent on the mountainside (and we most definitely will).

x

Leave a Reply

