Proverbs 8

Before I came home I knew that Proverbs was the book of the Bible I was going to focus on in June. It intrigued me a bit; I’d always thought Proverbs was just a bit like a bunch of Chinese proverbs mashed together. I don’t think I could have been more wrong. Proverbs is written like a father writes to his son, warning him to heed his advice so as not to end up in bad situations in life. Reading it makes me wish I’d read it when I was seventeen, but I also realise that, at seventeen, it would have gone completely over my head. Tonight I read Proverbs 8 and it kind of blew my mind a little bit.

Proverbs is all about wisdom, which is personified in ‘Lady Wisdom’. I’ve come to the conclusion, after having done a little research, that the wisdom spoken of throughout is actually referring to Jesus. vs 22-31 clarify this beautifully:

 “The Lord brought me forth as the first of his works,[c][d]
    before his deeds of old;
 I was formed long ages ago,
    at the very beginning, when the world came to be.
 When there were no watery depths, I was given birth,
    when there were no springs overflowing with water; 
 before the mountains were settled in place, 
    before the hills, I was given birth, 
 before he made the world or its fields
    or any of the dust of the earth. 
 I was there when he set the heavens in place, 
    when he marked out the horizon on the face of the deep,
 when he established the clouds above 
    and fixed securely the fountains of the deep, 
 when he gave the sea its boundary 
    so the waters would not overstep his command, 
and when he marked out the foundations of the earth. 
     Then I was constantly[e] at his side. 
I was filled with delight day after day,
    rejoicing always in his presence,
 rejoicing in his whole world
    and delighting in mankind.”
(NIV)

It’s terribly easy to forget that Jesus was always in the plan, that He was always going to be our Saviour. But even in Proverbs Jesus was speaking to His people, telling them that there was far more to this than ‘Lady Wisdom’. And Jesus watched the world come to life, He saw God create it and He fell in love with His people and the beautiful creation that they were given so freely to live within. He has loved us so truly from the beginning.

He was the perfect example too:

vs13:
“To fear the Lord is to hate evil;
I hate pride and arrogance,
evil behaviour and perverse speech.”
(NIV)

Even Jesus was God fearing. That doesn’t mean to literally be afraid of God, it means to have a good relationship with him based on a great respect for what He commands from us. We don’t need to try and be like Christ, but we must focus our eyes on God so that we can become like Him, so we can change; and if we want to change then we will.

The chapter ends wonderfully:

vs34-36
  Blessed are those who listen to me,
    watching daily at my doors,
    waiting at my doorway.
 For those who find me find life 
    and receive favor from the Lord. 
 But those who fail to find me harm themselves; 
    all who hate me love death.”
(NIV)

Proverbs, like I stated above, is a warning. It’s a warning that is as subtle as a punch in the face. I’ve always known that the way to life is through focusing on God but it’s as if I sort of just choose to forget sometimes. I’m only human and I like to believe that I’ll find fulfilment in a man, or having loads of friends, or being really good at cooking, or keeping fit, but the truth is that none of those things will ever be enough. It makes me so happy to think that Jesus is enough; that He is more than enough. That I am so incredibly safe in Him and that, if I trust in Him to enable me to do everything for His glory, my heart will be safe.

x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

